Sudan: Multiple Exemptions in Council of Party Affairs

The Sudanese authorities have issued a list of exemptions inthe Council of Party Affairs, which includes the speaker of the council and five members.


Khartoum: Altaghyeer


The Minister of Cabinet Affairs, Khaled Omar Youssef, issued a decision exempting six from the presidency and membership of the Council of Party Affairs on Monday.

The exemption decision included Othman Muhammad Musa Omar, Speaker of the Council, and members Haider Hussein Ali Naaman, Police Lieutenant General Muhammad al-Fadl Abdul-Karim, Sayyid Hamid, Salwa Shaker Abdul-Masih, and TawfiqMustafa Muhammad al-Hussein.

The exemption decision was based on the provisions of Article (7/1) of the Political Parties Council Law of 2016, read together with Article (15) of the Law on Interpretation of Laws and Public Texts of 1974.

Ministries of Cabinet Affairs, Finance and Economic Planning, Labor and Administrative Reform and other concerned partieswere directed to implement the decision.

The council was formed during the era of the former regime, under the pretext of regulating political practice in the country.

The deposed Al-Bashir regime turned the council into a tool to control political space and keep opponents away.

The most infamous incident pertaining to the parliament was its refusal to register the Republican Party, despite its fulfillment of all conditions, on the grounds of violating the Islamic faith.

This is in addition to the Council’s interference in many conflicts in favor of the loyalists of the ousted regime, Al-Bashir.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button